GLANCE VEDIC ASTROLOGY---basic vedic astrology birth chart/zodiac signs

Rasi chart

There are 12 RASIs starting from ARIES to Pisces. All our predictions are based on the planets in the Rasi. Except Sun and Moon all other Planets own two houses. The Shadow planets Raghu and Ketu do not own any house

Rasi chart 2

360 degree has been divided into 30* each to accommodate 12 Rasis


There are 27 stars and classified in 12 Rasis. Each planets including shadow planets owns 3 starts each.


Human life is calculated as120 years and it has been divided dasha period of 9 planets.

 Sun Dasha is 6 years

Moon Dasha is 10 years

Mars Dasha is 7 years

Rahu Dasha is 18 years

Jupiter Dasha is 16 years

Saturn Dasha is 19 years

Mercury Dasha is 17 years

Ketu Dasha is 7 years

Venus Dasha is 20 years

Each  Dasha has further bifurcated into Buktis. The starting Dasha depends on the birth zodiac signs All the vedic astrology predictions are based  on  vedic astrology birth chart / horoscope

Famous Yogas

There are many yogas available and I am listing some famous yoga in Vedic astrology

Pancha mahapurusha yogas

Ruchaka yoga: Mars in its own sign or in exaltation, and in a kendra house - brave, arrogant, the victor.

Bhadra yoga: Mercury in its own sign or in exaltation, and in a kendra house - intellectual, learned, rich.

Hamsa yoga: Jupiter in its own sign or in exaltation, and in a kendra house - religious, very fortunate.

Malavaya yoga: Venus in its own sign or in exaltation, and in a kendra house - wealthy, loves life, sometimes self-indulgent, good marriage, strong sense of justice.

Shasya yoga: Saturn in its own sign or in exaltation, and in a kendra house - powerful, strict, position of authority.

Raja yoga: The lords of a kendra and a trikona house are in conjunction, mutually aspected or in reception. This is a combination of good fortune (trikona house) and action (kendra house), so take advantage of it. I would like to point out that a raja yoga could be formed by one planet, and also by two planets.


What is 'the zodiac'?

The zodiac is actually the backdrop to the Sun's apparent pathway through the sky. This pathway is divided into sections that we know as the various zodiac signs. Because the Sun's (apparent) pathway through the heavens is basically constant and can be found at roughly the same spot for the same date in each year, this is how we came to use Sun Signs: the position of the Sun in relation to the backdrop of the zodiac constellations. This system is convenient because the average person doesn't have to have complicated planetary positions worked out to know which constellation affects them personally, the date of birth is all that is needed in most cases.

All the other planets follow roughly the same path as the Sun, within the zodiac backdrop.

What is a Rising Sign or Ascendant?

The Rising Sign is literally the zodiac sign that is rising on the eastern horizon at the time of birth. This is why the time of birth is important, because without it the Rising Sign cannot be calculated.

As the planets continue their orbit around the Sun, here on earth their pathway seems to follow the Sun. As they do so, like the Sun they have the zodiac signs as a backdrop behind them. So when an astrologer says that the Moon is in Aries or Mercury is in Virgo this simply means that at a particular time that planet had that particular zodiac sign as it's backdrop.

I am born on a cusp, what does this mean?

When a planet is about to move from one zodiac sign to another along the backdrop it is moving on, this is know as being on the cusp, which causes confusion for most people about which Sun Sign they are (most people are not aware of the positions of the other planets so they are not usually a concern). If you have your time of birth, you can find out exactly which Sun Sign you are using the services of an astrologer or one of the free chart drawing services via the internet.

What is a 'house'?

A birth chart looks a bit like a pie cut into 12 slices. Each of these 'slices' is called a 'house' and can represent various aspects of your life and psychological makeup (depending on the type of interpretation being applied to it). For example, some of the interpretations that can be applied to your second house include: earning capacity, self esteem, values, possessions, 'what I own is what I am', and/or your ability to handle finances.

Why are interpretations by various astrologers so different for the same forecast period?

Just like anybody that you seek advice from, astrologers have different opinions and ways of interpreting the symbolism represented by the planets. The astrologer's training, life experience, and specialisation (ie medical, psychological, spiritual astrology, etc) will all have an effect on the way interpretations are given. I think that it is important to find an astrologer that you feel rapport with because the more open you are, the more you will gain from a personalised forecast.